Book review – Julie and Julia

“I use Grammarly for proofreading because typos are like chipped nail lacquer on the manicured hands of an uptight lady wearing Prada!”  
Coco et La vie en rose
Hello dears,
I haven’t posted a book review for some time now, so, when  Grammarly contacted me to introduce their proofreading online service I thought it might be the perfect occasion to share with you one of my latest reads.
“Julie and Julia” is a memoir by Julie Powell, documenting online her daily experiences cooking each and every one of the 524 recipes in Julia Child’s “Mastering the Art of French Cooking”.
Most probably you have watched the eponymous movie, adapted from Powell’s book and from “My Life in France”, Child’s autobiography. Girls, we are talking of the first major screenplay based on a blog!!
Well, I would recommend the book as a light read, featuring plenty of hilarious moments which will make you recall – laughing out loud – your own messy cooking attempts. You can’t help but sympathize with Julie, frustrated office employee who uses her cooking project as a character quest which, all the while, threatens to make (deeper) cracks in her marriage. 
SPOILER ALERT, there is a happy ending for our clumsy fellow blogger.
I also enjoyed very much the movie, which focuses on Ms. Child’s personal life and career as much as on Julie’s, with glorious Meryl Streep playing Julia’s role, and sweet Amy Adams as Powell.
P.S. Tonight I’m going to watch the screenplay adapted from one of my favourite books: The Help (2011). Any feedback from you dears?
This was a sponsored post written for Grammarly, though the content is entirely my own (hopefully without typos ehehe).
Looking forward to mastering the art of English speaking, I send you tons of love and happy thoughts
Yours
Coco
 
 

Share This Post

37 Comments

  1. Jackie Harrison - October 22, 2013

    I really enjoy that movie I had try several Julia Child recipes and was delighted but the real person I salute her for keeping track and movie was out showing both talents.<br />http://tifi11.blogspot.com

  2. Marcela Gmd - October 22, 2013

    Great review!!! nice movie and book!!!<br />Have a good week!!! and my g+ for your post!!!:)))<br /><br />Besos, desde España, Marcela♥

  3. Eva M. - October 22, 2013

    I should see the movie asap! :)<br /><br />xx<br />FashionEvELand | FEEL

  4. My Urban Market - October 22, 2013

    Io non ho mai letto il libro e non ho neanche visto il film. Terrò conto di questa review….<br />Un bacio e buona serata.<br /><br />Valeria<br />http://myurbanmarket.blogspot.it

  5. Freyas Fashion Chapter - October 22, 2013

    Need to see this! x<br /><a href="http://freyasfashionchapter.blogspot.co.uk/&quot; rel="nofollow">Freya&#39;s Fashion Chapter</a><br />

  6. Emmylou - October 22, 2013

    I haven&#39;t read The Help yet but dying to.<br />I&#39;ve read the book Julie and Julia, Coco, and I&#39;ll admit I didn&#39;t like it as much, but I did like how Julie was so honest.

  7. Vix - October 22, 2013

    I saw the film on an plane years ago and really enjoyed it. Maybe I&#39;ll find the book in a charity shop soon! x

  8. *TDM* - October 23, 2013

    Ho visto il film e mi è piaciuto tantissimo! Il libro invece mi manca!<br />un bacione bellezza<br /><br />http://tirateladimeno.blogspot.it/

  9. Deborah - October 23, 2013

    I should read this – I quite enjoyed the movie version with Meryl Streep. Great review!<br /><br />xo Deborah<br /><a href="http://coffeeproseprettyclothes.blogspot.com/&quot; rel="nofollow">Coffee, Prose, and Pretty Clothes</a>

  10. Serena Reale - October 23, 2013

    Grazie per il consiglio bellissima review voglio leggerlo anche io :)<br />http://mywonderrfulworld.blogspot.it/

  11. The Dainty Dolls House - October 23, 2013

    You did a fantastic job doll, I enjoyed reading this!! I need to sit down with a book sometime soon!! Super review. Have a gorgeous day my sweet!! Loves &amp; hugs xx

  12. Tatiana Biggi - October 23, 2013

    Grazie per il consiglio mi hai incuriosita! :)<br />Kiss<br /><br /><a href="http://www.tatilovespearls.com/2013/10/outfit-miawish-chanel-inspired.html&quot; rel="nofollow">Tati loves pearls</a>

  13. Maria Laura Argyropoulos - October 23, 2013

    Hai incuriosito anche me!!!! :)<br /><br /><a href="http://fashioncurly.com/&quot; rel="nofollow">The Fashion Curly</a>

  14. Annie Sand - October 23, 2013

    I just loved the movie!, but I haven&#39;t gotten around to reading the book. I have to add it to my &quot;to read&quot;-list. Happy Wednesday dear gal!

  15. Mari - October 23, 2013

    mi hai proprio incuriosita….:)<br /><br />&quot;Le luxe doit être confortable…&quot; http://emiliasalentoeffettomoda.altervista.org/il-lusso-deve-comodo-nona-luna/<br /><br />grazie <br />Mari

  16. Nicky mywishstyle - October 23, 2013

    brava Vale, hai suscitato curiosità!<br />baci

  17. Carolyne O' - October 23, 2013

    L&#39;ho letto e mi è piaciuto, una bella lettura &lt;3<br />Un bacione<br /><br />Carolina<br /><br />www.the-world-c.blogspot.com

  18. Andrea jueong - October 23, 2013

    I loved that movie. Thank you for entering the giveaway on my blog.For extra entry you can follow me on instagram.Following you on bloglovin.<br />http://www.fabuloustorture.blogspot.com<br />http://www.instagram.com/fabuloustorture

  19. alessia sica - October 23, 2013

    ho visto il film e sarebbe bello leggere anche il libro!<br /><br /><br />Baci<br />Alessia<br /><a href="http://www.thenewartfashion.com&quot; rel="nofollow">The New Art of Fashion</a><br />

  20. Federica Di Nardo - October 23, 2013

    Ho amato il libro e anche il film!<br /><br />Federica<br />www.thecutielicious.com

  21. Margaret Dallospedale - October 23, 2013

    Non ho mai visto il film…. mi sa che inizio con il libro allora.<br />Un bacione<br /><a href="http://www.indiansavage.com&quot; rel="nofollow">The diary of Indian Savage</a>

  22. Agata - October 23, 2013

    Non ho mai visto il film e mai letto il libro, ma dopo la tua recensione quasi quasi ci faccio un pensierino:)<br /><br />NUOVO POST! Ti va di passare? Mi farebbe piacere sapere cosa ne pensi 🙂 http://agatatasteofashion.blogspot.it/2013/10/romwomencom.html Un bacio :*

  23. Debra - October 23, 2013

    Thank you so much for the review. It sounds like a fun read. I will definately check for it at my library honey. 🙂 Also….The Help is one of my favorite books. Girl Power!!! 🙂 Love you my stylish friend. :)<br /><br />Debra@stylewisebydebra.com

  24. Kim Alston - October 23, 2013

    It looks like a really funny book. I haven&#39;t read it or seen the movie. Definitely on my list. Yaaay Grammarly!<br />http://www.averysweetblog.com/

  25. dim_3fs - October 23, 2013

    I have seen the movie, but I didn&#39;t like it a lot! Maybe I&#39;ll try the book!<br /><br />http://www.3forfabulousfashion.blogspot.com

  26. Laura C. - October 23, 2013

    non l ho letto e non ho visto il film!!!devo rimediare;)

  27. Natalia | Fashioned by Love - October 23, 2013

    Thank you for the review, Coco. I thought the movie was good, so might pick the book some time, too. x

  28. Francesca Romana Capizzi - October 23, 2013

    Io ho visto il film ma leggerò anche il libro a questo punto!!<br /><a href="http://www.dontcallmefashionblogger.com/&quot; rel="nofollow">Don&#39;t Call Me Fashion Blogger</a><br /><a href="https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dont-Call-Me-Fashion-Blogger/209835832384201&quot; rel="nofollow">Facebook</a><br /><a href="http://www.bloglovin.com/en/blog/2484071/dont-call-me-fashion-blogger&quot; rel="nofollow">

  29. Fabiola Tinelli - October 23, 2013

    Io ho visto solo il film per ora ma dev&#39;essere molto bello anche il libro!<br />Fabiola<br /><br /><a href="http://wildflowergirlstyle.blogspot.it&quot; rel="nofollow">wildflower girl</a><br /><a href="https://www.facebook.com/pages/Wildflower-Girl/507780435947082?ref=hl&quot; rel="nofollow">Facebook page</a><br />

  30. Alessandra Heidelberg - October 23, 2013

    io non ho mai visto il film e non ho mai letto il libro , ma mi hai incuriosito voglio leggerlo!<br />Alessandra<br />www.alessandrastyle.com

  31. C H I A R A - October 23, 2013

    io non l&#39;ho mai letto, ma dato che in questo periodo mi sto dando alla cucina sarebbe proprio il caso di leggerlo… per lo meno guardare il film!!!<br />Chiara<br /><a href="http://www.effenshion.com&quot; rel="nofollow">♡EFFENSHION</a>

  32. Dressed with soul - October 23, 2013

    Dearest Coco, as my prefered kind of books are memoirs and further I cook each day I´m absolutely sure that I will like this book! Thanks for introducing, it´s sounds funny and the idea of Julie Powell is cool. <br /><br />Hope you had a fantastic week so far and you laughed besides the book regarding a lot of other things &lt;3<br /><br />Wish you a happy rest of the week!<br /><br />Kisses,

  33. Sam - October 23, 2013

    I have only watched the movie, which I loved, so I am certain I will enjoy the book as well. Thanks for your visit sweetheart…I am currently away and will be back to blogging on Friday.<br />

  34. Tina Bradley - October 23, 2013

    I haven&#39;t read the book, but the movie was awesome!!! Funny, but when I saw the film, I never envisioned me ever blogging–now, here I am! xo T. http://tickledpinkwoman.blogspot.com

  35. London Loafers - October 24, 2013

    Oh I&#39;ve heard so many good things about this book! I must remember to ass it to my list when I go to the bookstore :)<br /><br />Hayfa<br />http://www.londonloafers.com

  36. mademoisellemode - October 24, 2013

    Ohh I don&#39;t read it !<br /><br />Kisses<br />http://www.mademoisellemode.com/

Leave a reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.